INDIAN RIVER COUNTY — Twenty-five graduating high school seniors in Florida’s 8th Congressional District were awarded the 2021 Congressional Medal of Merit by Congressman Bill Posey (R-Rockledge).

These distinguished students were nominated for the Congressional Medal of Merit by their schools in recognition of their academic excellence, commitment to their communities, civic involvement, and other achievements.

“I congratulate and commend these extraordinary students for their leadership in the classroom and in their community,” said Congressman Bill Posey. “These bright young people are the future of our great country, and this award helps ensure their hard work and accomplishments do not go unrecognized.”

The award ceremony was held on Thursday June 3 at the Brevard County Government Complex in Viera.

The following students were awarded the 2021 Congressional Medal of Merit:


Margaret Cancelosi, Saint Edward’s School; Kyrie Carlson, Indian River Charter High; Tim Martinelli, Sebastian River High; Sarah Sarnoski, Vero Beach High

Joshua Navarro, Indian River Charter High School; Zayna Shaikh, Saint Edward’s School; Andres Ruiz, Sebastian River High School; and Tristan Trax, Vero Beach High School.


Courtney Dunn, Astronaut High School; Jake Rita, Bayside High School; James Pillow III, Cocoa High School; Nicholas Widrick, Cocoa Beach Jr/Sr High School; Robert Barens, Eau Gallie High School; Argyro Diakakis, Edgewood Jr/Sr High School; Diana Truong, Heritage High School; Megan Mullen, Holy Trinity Episcopal Academy; Luke Smith, Melbourne Central Catholic School; William Giniewski, Melbourne High School; Alejandra Chupka, Merritt Island Christian School; Jaslyn Pollock, Merritt Island High School; Jeovan Teixeria, Odyssey Charter Jr/Sr. High School; Alexzander Owens, Palm Bay Magnet High School; Jocelyn Meyer, Rockledge High School; Rylan Andrews, Satellite High School; Sarah Joyner, Space Coast Jr/Sr High School; Connor Moyer, Titusville High School; Devin Fox, Viera High School; and Abigail Johnson, West Shore Jr/Sr High School.


Jessica James, East River High School

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.